Fort Worth DWI Attorneys
Defending Charges of DWI in Texas
Being pulled over is stressful enough. If you are asked to step out of your vehicle and told that you are under suspicion for DWI, you could panic. Try to remain as calm as possible and ask to speak with a Fort Worth DWI lawyer right away. At The Clark Law Firm, we are prepared to aggressively defend your case.
Why clients choose The Clark Law Firm:
- High-quality legal counsel
- Representation from a former prosecutor
- Flexible payment plans
- A proven record of success
There are few things more frightening than facing DWI charges – when you come to our firm, you can trust that our DUI defense team will go above and beyond to ensure that your rights are protected. Attorneys Bradley Clark and M. Breanne Lilley have the experience and skill required to combat the allegations you face. Should you hire the legal services offered at our firm, you can trust that you are seen as more than just another case number.
Arrested for DWI in Texas? Don't face these charges alone. Call (817) 435-4970 to begin discussing your legal options.
Consequences of a DWI Conviction
The exact consequences for a DWI charge vary depending on the details of the alleged crime. If you have a prior conviction or if there were special circumstances involved, you could be facing harsher penalties than someone facing a first offense. It is important that you consult with a Fort Worth DWI attorney as soon as possible to discuss your charges and your legal options.
According to Texas' DWI laws, the consequences for a DWI may include:
- Jail or prison time
- Suspension of your license
- Large fines
- Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
Special Circumstances in DWI Cases
There is a wide range of circumstances that can lead to harsher penalties. You should also be aware that you are not required to submit to field sobriety tests, but you are expected to submit to a breath or blood test. If you refuse, you could be facing the immediate suspension of your license.
Cases that involve the following circumstances could face additional penalties:
- Hit and runs
- DWI with injuries
- DWI causing accidents
- DWI manslaughter
It is vital that you remain silent when you are being questioned by law enforcement to avoid having extra charges tacked onto your initial charge. You have the right to ask to speak with a Fort Worth DWI attorney and should request that your lawyer is present for all questioning.
Implied Consent Law in Texas
Under Texas implied consent law, all drivers have consented to submit to a breath or blood test when lawfully arrested for DWI. If you refuse to take a breath or blood test, depending on your prior convictions, you can face 180 days to two years' license suspension.
Penalties for First, Second & Third DWI in Texas
Drunk driving is a serious offense in Texas. Whether you have been charged for the first or third time, a DWI conviction results in harsh penalties such as jail time, fines, license suspension, and community service.
The following is a breakdown of the Texas DWI penalties:
- First-time DWI – Class B misdemeanor, punishable by a jail term of up to 180 days, a maximum $2,000 fine, license suspension not exceeding 365 days, and up to 100 hours of community service
- First-time DWI (with a BAC of at least .15) – Class A misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum one-year jail sentence, a fine no more than $4,000, license suspension for up to 365 days, and up to 200 hours of community service
- Second-time DWI – Class A misdemeanor
- Third-time DWI – Third-degree felony that results in a maximum 10-year prison term, a fine not exceeding $10,000, license suspension for up to two years (including mandatory ignition interlock installation), and up 600 hours of community service.
In addition to these penalties, a Texas DWI conviction can lead to a permanent criminal record. Having a drunk driving offense on your record can make it difficult to get or keep a job, find housing, apply for higher education, and take advantage of other opportunities in life.
Unfortunately, there is no such thing as a “lookback period” in Texas. This means a previous DWI conviction will always be considered in the event of a new DWI charge, whether the new offense occurs five or ten years after the last one.
Additionally, a DWI conviction cannot be expunged in this state. This means your DWI conviction will follow you for the rest of your life. That is why having an experienced Fort Worth DWI attorney on your side can make a significant difference. Your Fort Worth DWI lawyer can keep that permanent mark off your record and help you obtain the best possible outcome in your case.
How Can A DWI Attorney In Fort Worth Help You?
- DWI attorneys have a deep understanding of state DWI laws and can provide the best legal defense strategy for your specific case.
- A DWI attorney can negotiate with prosecutors on your behalf to possibly reduce or dismiss charges.
- A DWI lawyer can challenge the accuracy of field sobriety and breathalyzer tests, as well as any other evidence collected against you.
- DWI attorneys are experienced in alternative sentencing options, such as alcohol education classes or community service, that may be offered instead of jail time.
- A DWI lawyer can guide you through the often-complex court process and represent you in court proceedings. Having an experienced legal advocate by your side can greatly increase your chances of a favorable outcome.
Overall, hiring a DWI attorney can greatly benefit your case and give you a better chance at avoiding severe penalties. It is important to hire an experienced attorney who is knowledgeable about state DWI laws and has a successful track record in defending clients charged with DWI. Contact our DWI attorneys in Forth Worth, Texas for guidance and representation today.
Facing DWI charges in Texas? Contact our firm today at (817) 435-4970 to request a complimentary initial consultation.