Fort Worth Drug Possession Lawyer
Fighting Drug Possession Charges in Texas
A conviction for drug possession in Texas has severe consequences. Not only do you face the possibility of going to jail or paying expensive fines, but your driver’s license may be suspended and the police may seize your vehicle or other property. Additionally, drug possession charges result in a permanent mark on your criminal record, which can make it difficult to obtain or maintain employment.
If you have been charged with drug possession in Texas, The Clark Law Firm is ready to make sure that you obtain the best results possible. Our Fort Worth drug possession attorneys can investigate your arrest, examine all of the evidence available, and build a strong defense strategy just for you.
Arrested for drug possession? Get the skillful defense you need from our Fort Worth drug possession attorney by contacting us today.
How Long Do You Go to Jail for Drug Possession in Texas?
The amount of jail time that you can face for drug possession in Texas largely depends on the type and the amount of the drug that is found in your possession. In Texas, the possession of controlled dangerous substances (CDS) is divided into four “penalty groups.” The penalty group your case falls under determines the amount of jail time you can receive.
For example, if you had 400 grams or more of a drug that falls under the Penalty 1-A group, you can face a minimum of 15 years and up to 99 years in prison. However, if you had 400 grams or more of a drug that falls under the Penalty 4 group, you can face a minimum of 5 years and up to 99 years in prison.
Texas Drug Possession Penalties
You can either be charged with misdemeanor possession or felony possession based on the penalty group and the weight or amount of the drug in question. Even less than a gram of a Penalty Group 1 substance is punishable by a state jail felony, which results in a state jail sentence between 180 days and two years, as well as a fine of up to $10,000.
The laws and penalties for possession of marijuana are distinct from other drug possession laws. It is considered a Class B misdemeanor, carrying a sentence of up to 180 days in jail and a fine of up to $10,000, for possession of two ounces or less of marijuana.
Let Us Protect Your Rights & Future
A conviction for possession of a controlled substance can be avoided at all costs with the help of an experienced Fort Worth drug possession attorney. Our firm has successfully handled thousands of cases, so we understand what it takes to get your life back on track.
Facing drug possession charges in Texas? Contact us to start discussing your defense with our Fort Worth drug possession lawyers today.