Fort Worth Assault & Battery Attorney
Call (817) 435-4970 to Get a Former Prosecutor on Your Side
In Texas, “assault and battery” is actually considered the same and simply known as assault. Being charged with this type of violent crime can be a serious matter.
In addition to serving jail time or paying fines, you could also face a civil lawsuit if the alleged victim decides to seek any damages they incurred.
If you were arrested and charged with assault, The Clark Law Firm is prepared to protect your rights and future. As a former prosecutor, our Fort Worth criminal defense attorney understands how the prosecution will approach your case and can develop an effective defense strategy designed to either get your charges reduced, or your case dismissed altogether. Let us fight tirelessly for you in order to obtain the outcome you desire.
Don’t face these charges alone. To learn how we can help today, call (817) 435-4970 today.
An act of assault can be one of the following three things:
- Intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causing bodily injury to another individual
- Intentionally or knowingly threatening another person with bodily injury
- Intentionally or knowingly causing physical contact which is considered offensive
According to Texas law, you can be charged with assault from an incident which involves no physical contact. For a threat to be considered a criminal assault, however, it must put the “reasonable fear of injury” into someone else.
A simple assault that results in minor injuries often a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum jail sentence of one year and fines of up to $4,000. On the other hand, if a simple assault only involved touching or threatening, then it is a Class C misdemeanor, punishable by fines of up to $500.
A simple assault can increase to a third-degree felony (maximum prison sentence of 10 years and fines of up to $10,000) if:
- Assault is committed against a security guard or emergency services worker
- Assault is committed against a government official or public servant
- Assault is committed against a family member or person with whom you have a domestic relationship (and you have a prior domestic violence or domestic assault conviction)
An assault that is considered an aggravated assault if serious injury is inflicted or a deadly weapon was used in committing the offense. Aggravated assault is a second-degree felony, punishable by a prison sentence between two and 20 years, as well as fines of up to $10,000.
35+ Years of Legal Experience
Our legal team can investigate your arrest and collect evidence necessary to determine all of your available legal options. With more than 35 years of combined experience, The Clark Law Firm is commited to help you get your life back on the right path.
Contact us and request a complimentary consultation.