How to Enjoy Fireworks Without Getting Arrested
Avoid a Criminal Charge on Independence Day
Barbeques, beaches, beers and fireworks are some of the many ways Texans celebrate the 4th of July. While COVID-19’s threat to public safety limits how Texans can celebrate Independence Day this year, we know that people will welcome any opportunity to light up the night sky.
Fireworks, sparklers and poppers are popular staple pieces of this holiday, but in Fort Worth, private use of fireworks is illegal. That’s right. You cannot possess, manufacture, store, handle and use fireworks at any time. The City of Fort Worth supports their reasoning with the following figures:
- On average, 180 people go to the emergency room every day with fireworks-related injuries in the month around the 4th of July
Fireworks start an estimated 19,500 fires each year, including 1,900 structure
fires, 500 vehicle fires and 17,100 outside and other fires
- On average, these fires cause five deaths, 46 injuries and $105 million in direct property damage
As a result, if you violate the city law, you could get a class C misdemeanor charge punishable by up to $2,000 in fines.
Texas Firework Laws
Further, we encourage you to review the following firework laws in the state of Texas:
- A person must obtain an appropriate license to engage in the business of manufacturing, distributing, jobbing, or importing fireworks to be sold or used in Texas; or supervise or conduct public fireworks displays.
- A person who is younger than 21 may not get a pyrotechnic operator's license.
- Unless the fireworks conform to the standards of the United States Consumer Product Safety Commission and the department, a person in Texas may not sell the fireworks at retail, offer the fireworks for retail sale, possess the fireworks for retail sale or transport, use, or explode the fireworks in this state.
A person may not:
- explode or ignite fireworks within 600 feet of any church, a hospital other than a veterinary hospital, an asylum, a licensed child care center, or a public or private primary or secondary school or institution of higher education unless the person receives authorization in writing from that organization
- sell at retail, explode, or ignite fireworks within 100 feet of a place where flammable liquids or flammable compressed gasses are stored and dispensed
- explode or ignite fireworks within 100 feet of a place where fireworks are stored or sold
- ignite or discharge fireworks in or from a motor vehicle
- place ignited fireworks in, or throw ignited fireworks at, a motor vehicle
- conduct a public fireworks display that includes Fireworks 1.3G unless the person is a licensed pyrotechnic operator
- conduct a proximate display of fireworks that includes Fireworks 1.3G or Fireworks 1.4G as defined in NFPA 1126 Standards for the Use of Pyrotechnics Before a Proximate Audience unless the person is a licensed pyrotechnic special effects operator and has the approval of the local fire prevention officer
- sell, store, manufacture, distribute, or display fireworks except under certain conditions.
These are among the countless rules and regulations for fireworks and firework displays in Texas. If you violate any element of these laws, you could get a class A, B or C misdemeanor charge which is punishable by steep fines.
Thus, we strongly advise you to let the professionals handle the dangerous stuff. Sit back, relax and enjoy the firework show.
If you are facing charges for violating Texas’ firework laws, please let us know. Call (817) 435-4970 so we can get started on fighting your accusations!