Texas DWI Penalties for Commercial Drivers
From semi-trucks carrying cargo to buses carrying passengers, commercial driver’s license (CDL) holders drive full-time to earn a living and support their families. There are a number of ways a commercial driver can lose his/her CDL in Texas, such as getting a DWI conviction.
Although the legal limit for civilian drivers is a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08%, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) sets the legal limit for CDL holders at .04%. If a commercial driver is found to have a BAC of .04% or greater, a first DWI offense in Texas is a Class B misdemeanor, which carries a maximum 180-day jail sentence and/or a fine of up to $2,000.
Regarding a CDL, a first-time DWI conviction will result in a one-year suspension. If a commercial driver was transporting hazardous cargo, then it is a three-year suspension. A second or subsequent conviction will lead to a lifetime disqualification from obtaining a CDL.
Once a CDL is taken, the police officer will issue the driver a temporary license that lasts up to 41 days. During that time, the driver may schedule an ALR hearing to disapprove the elements of the DWI charge.
Even after serving a CDL suspension, obtaining employment requires a good driving history. While a first offense won’t prevent a driver from working, employers may be reluctant to hire him/her because of the DWI on his/her record.
If you are a CDL holder and have been arrested for a DWI in Fort Worth, look no further than The Clark Law Firm to protect your rights, reputation, and future. We have successfully handled thousands of cases, including DWI charges.
Do not hesitate to contact us today and schedule a complimentary consultation.