Driving on a Suspended License in Texas
In Texas, there are a variety of reasons why a driver’s license can be suspended, whether it’s due to a traffic violation or even a criminal conviction. Having a suspended license means you cannot operate any vehicle for a specific period.
Common reasons for a suspended license include:
Being convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI)
Refusing to submit to a chemical test (e.g., breath or blood test) after a DWI arrest
Using a fake ID or allowing another person to use your ID
Being convicted of vehicular homicide
Accumulating four moving violations or more within 12 months, or seven moving violations or more within 24 months
Driving on a suspended or revoked license in Texas is a Class C misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $500. However, if your driver’s license was suspended due to DWI, you have a prior conviction for driving on a suspended or revoked license, or you didn’t have insurance at the time of the offense, then driving on a suspended or revoked license is a Class B misdemeanor, which carries a maximum jail sentence of 180 days and/or a fine of up to $2,000.
If you were driving without insurance and caused a car accident that resulted in another person’s injury or death, then driving with a suspended or revoked license is a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by a jail term of one year and/or a maximum fine of $4,000.
Lastly, Texas law also allows for additional license suspension that is as long as the initial suspension. For example, if your license was suspended for six months and you are convicted of driving with a suspended license during that suspension period, your license can be suspended for another six months after the initial period ends.